Third Wave Coffee

coffee

Coffee is one of the most commonly consumed drinks in America. However, according to Edward F. Fischer’s article, Americans are drinking less coffee. Specialty coffee on the other hand is becoming increasingly popular. “Third wave” coffee is what these specialty coffee are being called. This third wave coffee is offered by high-end coffee shops and online. This new wave of coffee drinking has not had a significant impact on the Guatemalans who previously were known for their labor of making coffee. Instead the farmers who are making coffee are now focusing more on selling to their neighbors. Coffee is becoming more of an individualized family brand.

I am not an avid coffee drinker, so this does not have much of an effect on me. When I do drink coffee, I tend to drink “second wave” coffee from Starbucks or Dunkin Donuts. If I want a quick cup of coffee I will make it in my own home. It seems to me a bit ridiculous to order online. I’m sure that this coffee has a unique taste with the different ways in which they blend it; still it just seems to me like it is more convenient to get a Starbucks coffee. While I do find this new wave of coffee an intriguing idea, it just seems inconvenient to me. While it might become more popular than this second wave of coffee in the future, currently it does not appeal to me.

http://popanth.com/article/third-wave-coffee

