#hashtagmylife

This blog caught my eye for reasons I’m embarrassed to admit. However, I’m going to talk about these reasons because they’re relevant and they are the truth of my world and how social media fits into it. A week ago, my IPhone dropped out of my pocket, and cracked onto concrete and into a puddle. The screen just flickered a dim light of blinking patterns, and I knew there was no hope. Since I’m at school, I knew it was going to be 1-2 weeks until I could get a new phone. I was embarrassed to admit that my first thought was, “Shoot, I lost that picture that I wanted to Instagram AND I’m not going to be able to go on Instagram for so long!”

In “#hashtagmylife”, Crystal Abidin (a PhD candidate in Anthropology & Sociology, and Communications & Media Studies at the University of Western Australia) examines the so-called “strategies” of Instagram-ing for a famous Australian blogger, named Sharon. She talks about how the use of hash tags adds to the publicity of posts, which subsequently adds to more popularity, more followers, and more likes. She also, talks about the rituals that come along with snapping the perfect picture with the perfect filter.

This blog was intriguing because over the past week, I’ve used no social media. The inability to be able to tap on the app (sometimes unconsciously) for another fix has made me realize how much social media does consume my life, whether good or bad. I haven’t been able to Instagram, when I’m used to posting a few times per week. The truth is, I enjoy posting pretty pictures that bring out the best in my day-to-day life. Sometimes I make it a mission to snap a good picture of a sunset, or special event, or even of a peculiar object. Other times, my Instagram posts are spontaneous. However, the main goal is to always obtain maximum amount of “likes” possible.

How often do you post on Instagram? Is everyone’s main underlying Instagram succession rate and satisfaction based on the amount of “likes” on a photo? If so, is this something we should be ashamed of egotistically, or is it a social movement that is maximizing our growing need for immediate gratification?

http://popanth.com/article/hashtagmylife

