Following the Steps of the Beat Generation

Experience, knowledge, an escape from social responsibility, and the promise of adventure. That’s what awaits the young traveller setting out on a trip. Jacqueline Arruda’s PopAnth article, “How Kerouac’s On the Road Influenced my Generation” compares her own generation of twentysomethings in brazil, to the Beat Generation of the 50’s, and how each has been equally inspired by the writings and philosophy of Jack Kerouac.

Young adults in Brazil are picking up books like “On the Road” by Keruoac and other books from writers of the Beat Generation. These college students, not unlike ourselves, are pressured to leave school and find a good job and be able to find their place in society with ease, all the while, trying to find out who they are as individuals. This is where youths are turning from the normal path, and following in the footsteps of The Beat Generation, who rejected standards, experimented with alternate life styles, and lived the life they wanted.

While I have not yet read “On The Road,” I too have been touch and influenced by this lifestyle. Last year, I took a gap year, and was very fortunate to be able to travel to Costa Rica for three months, and Israel for four months. Over the course of the year, I was confronted with many new experiences, different people and cultures, and adventures I would never have had at home or in school. Needless to say, I’ve been infected by the travel bug and look forward to my next big trip. This summer I plan on driving across the country to pursue agriculture, the field that I intend to study and practice

http://popanth.com/article/how-kerouacs-on-the-road-influenced-my-generation

