Have you taken Anthro in High School?

Before taking Anthropology this semester, I can tell you for sure that I had no clue what it was about. I thought it meant the study of culture and people and that was just about all I knew. But now I know that it is much more than that. It is making a difference in our world by exploring the greatness and wonders of cultures. I know for sure that I would have not been familiar with Anthropology back when I was in high school.

Nowadays, high schools are incorporating this subject as part of the student’s curriculum. This helps to shape their minds around culture and to broaden their understandings of the world. Writer of “Anthropology in the High School Classroom”, Eric Dean visits a High School Anthropology class which was being taught by Dexter Chapin. He interviews Chapin to learn why he believes it is important for high school students to learn about Anthropology and how it will make an impact in their lives.

One highlight from this interview was the ” Worldview Paper”. This is an extensive  assignment that students must write about in order to rethink about the world that they have never thought about. It serves as a way for them to begin how dynamic and cultural our world is.  Dexter emphasizes the importance of thinking outside the box and to become open minded, especially at a high school level. I for one, think this is fantastic because it helps to create an environment where everyone can make everyday changes in our world.

Reference: http://www.anthropology-news.org/index.php/2014/09/25/anthropology-in-the-high-school-classroom/

