Nerd Culture: Exclusive or Inclusive?

Lock screen

I am not shy in admitting that I am a nerd.  The countless hours I have put into many of my video games, the 41 volumes of a graphic novel series that I have read multiple times, and my unhealthy obsession with Pokémon has cemented me into a social group that Paul Mullins believes is quickly becoming “fashionable.”  This tends to be a true statement as shows such as Doctor Who become more popular, video games are seen as very common place in people’s homes, and websites like Tumblr allow people to share their love of certain fandoms.  However, Mullins seems to suggest that nerds are exclusive in the sense that we want to be outcasts and be the only ones to enjoy the things they enjoy.

A quote is used from a man named Patton Oswalt where he points out situations where geek culture is used in the mainstream in, at least in his opinion, a negative way.  He also enjoys being “different” from everyone else.  In reality, he seems to be in the minority.  At least in my experience, nerds want to expose the things they love to more people so they can share their passion with others.  For example, those who take their friends to midnight showings of The Rocky Horror Picture Show to expose them to something they are deeply connected with.

In my experience, nerds do not look to become outcasts.  We look for people to accept what we love and maybe even give it a chance themselves.  Nerds have a special love of sharing their favorite things with others.  Geek culture will not segregate us but, rather, bring people closer together as we can share things we love together on a bigger scale.

Article:  The New Normals: Geek Style and Consumer Culture

