LIVING IN THE CITY

Living in a city can surprisingly be the loneliest place to live. One can easily become lost within the large morning crowds of school children, business tycoons, construction workers, and early morning shoppers. It is easy to duck your head down and avoid the eye contact on the metro as mentioned by Erin B Taylor in her analysis, “Alone in the city: How we create personal space in the madding crowd”. Coming from a big city myself I have avoided the casual conversations of tourists and natives of the Boston area. I am not antisocial by any means, but the city environment gives me the opportunity to be alone, but still enjoy the safety of being surrounded by people. Although not everyone knows each other, I know I am looked after by even strangers on the street. The best example of this was the Boston Marathon. One tragedy led to the realization that Boston is a larger family than I had ever expected. We bonded together to support victims, and their families. For someone who comes from the suburbs to live in the city it can be an overwhelming and exciting experience. It is impossible to ignore the energy of city life. However, after spending some time in the city you find an urban family that can be more supportive than you could imagine.

source:

http://popanth.com/article/alone-in-the-city-the-importance-of-being-unsociable/ 

